Longboard and Juniors Champions Crowned at Pro A Coruña

Longboard and Juniors Champions Crowned at Pro A Coruña


Pro A Coruna Podium 16

Pro A Coruna Podium 16

Caption: Winners of the inaugural Pro A Coruña Surf Fest
Image: WSL/Poullenot

Location: Playa de Orzán / Playa de Caión, A Coruña – Galicia / Spain
Event window: July 5 – 10, 2016
Today’s call: Next Call Sun. 8:30AM QS Men & Women
Conditions: Building three-to-five foot

PLAYA DE CAION, A Coruña – Spain (Saturday, July 9, 2016) – Antoine Delpero & Rachael Tilly have taken out the Longboard Pro A Coruña while Marco Mignot and Teresa Bonvalot claim the under-18 titles at the Junior Pro A Coruña today in clean, building three-to-five foot surf at the secondary venue of playa de Caion.

Competition resumed with the longboard semifinals early this morning before going on a long break through the low tide to recommence at 5:30pm with the remaining few heats of both the longboard and junior events.

Reigning World Longboard Champion Rachael Tilly (USA), 18, got a head start on her opponents in the women’s longboard final with a solid 7.17 wave for a lengthy nose ride and the early lead. The quickly building swell served up big chunky sets and very few opportunities for traditional style longboarding as Chloe Calmon (BRA), Lindsay Steinriede (USA) and Justine Dupont (FRA) kept chasing open shoulders and sections to exploit.

Brazilian Calmon committed to a big final maneuver on a closing section, adding an average score on the board before she and Tilly exchanged similar nose rides. Dupont and Steinriede had a slower start but both found waves to try to get back into contention. Tilly finally caught the winning ride to overtake Calmon and claim the women’s Longboard Pro A Coruña title.

“These events are pretty important because that final was full of girls I compete against in China as well, Chloe and Lindsay I’ve surfed against in man-on-man heats on my way to the world title in December,” she reflected. “The water here is beautiful and so clear and everyone I’ve met has been super nice and friendly which has made my trip 10 times better. I’m going to go home now but I’ll be back for the next event in England next month.”

In an exciting start to the women’s junior final, Teresa Bonvalot (PRT), Ariane Ochoa (EUK) and Nadia Erostarbe (EUK) all got up to quick start, exchanging great waves right off the buzzer for a 7 point ride each. Ochoa was the quickest to back up her top score with two good turns on a left-hander. The Basque surfer hold the lead for almost half the heat but Portugal’s Bonvalot found a slightly better second wave to steal back the lead and ultimately belt her third Junior win this season.

“I’m super happy to win again here today, it gets me closer to a possible European title but I know nothing’s for certain until the end of the season,” she stated. “I’m going to keep working hard towards that goal, there’s two more events and of course I’ll be carrying confidence and motivation into the next event in three of four days but there’s still work to be done to secure it.”

Surfers and event officials will next meet at 8:30AM Sunday for a potential re-start of the main Qualifying Series men and women’s events.

The Pro A Coruña Surf Fest is scheduled from July 5-10, 2016 at playa de Orzán / playa de Caión, A Coruña – Galicia / Spain. For all results, photos, video highlights and press releases, log on to worldsurfleague.com. The Pro A Coruña Surf Fest is supported by Tag Heuer, Mahou, Nissan, Ayuntamiento de A Coruña, Concello de Laracha, Mondariz, Eleven Yellow, Coca Cola, Siroko, Club Costa Da Morte and Vazva among others.

1- Rachael Tilly (USA) 14.00
2- Chloe Calmon (BRA) 11.67
3- Justine Dupont (FRA) 10.03
4- Lindsay Steinriede (USA) 5.93

SF 1: Justine Dupont (FRA) 17.86, Rachael Tilly (USA) 15.34, Victoria Vergara (FRA) 12.23, Carole Lormant (FRA) 7.13
SF 2: Chloe Calmon (BRA) 13.63, Lindsay Steinriede (USA) 12.03, Alice Lemoigne (REU) 10.07, Kathleen Barrigao (PRT) 7.67

1- Teresa Bonvalot (PRT) 13.16
2- Ariane Ochoa (EUK) 12.57
3- Nadia Erostarbe (EUK) 12.43
4- Eveline Hooft (NDL) 5.97

SF 1: Teresa Bonvalot (PRT) 11.33, Eveline Hooft (NDL) 6.96, Nina Reynal (FRA) 6.17, Juliette Brice (FRA) 4.77
SF 2: Ariane Ochoa (EUK) 12.67, Nadia Erostarbe (EUK) 6.90, Uhaina Joly (FRA) 4.10, Néis Lartigue (FRA) 3.60

QF 1: Pauline Ado (FRA), Keshia Seelow-Eyre (GBR), Ariane Ochoa (EUK), Camille-Elena Lavocat (MAF)
QF 2: Ainara Aymat (EUK), Nadia Erostarbe (EUK), Teresa Bonvalot (PRT), Marion Philippe (PYF)
QF 3: Justine Dupont (FRA), Peony Knight (GBR), Anat Lelior (ISR), Lisa Girardet (REU)
QF 4: Garazi Sanchez-Ortun (EUK), Maddi Aizpurua (EUK), Camilla Kemp (PRT), Emily Currie (GBR)

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com.


About the Author: